top of page
  • Writer's picturesych8006

Final Project Artist Statement + Gifs

Updated: May 2, 2022

I had a difficult time coming up with an idea for this project because although many people were taking a more lighthearted and maybe fun approach to this, I still wanted to create something meaningful to me that had a deeper and more realistic take on the project. With that, I decided to create a playful take on what it means to live life as a woman. I wanted the users to be able to experience the difficulties that are the norm for a woman, and experiences that are quintessential to the female experience. I wanted to bring to light the really difficult issues women deal with almost every day throughout their time. I wanted to create a game that took you through the life timeline of a woman and show through some dark humor the difficulties that we all deal with. The one easter egg I hid was at the beginning, and it was an option to "opt-out." There is no proceeding from this point because I wanted to show that even though it's difficult, there is no "opt-out" option for these difficult experiences for someone that lives it 24/7. I am hoping that throughout the experience, the audience can realize the sad truth behind a lot of these options. I wanted it to feel relatable to those who identify as women and serve as eye-opening for those who don't. Bringing to light the issues women face growing up, I wanted this piece to show how these seemingly innocent experiences can truly shape the life of the woman living through them. I pulled many of these experiences from my own life. This really did take the project to the next level for me, as it felt cathartic to project these experiences for everyone to see, and hopefully to help everyone realize how f**ked up it can be, but then to reimmerse them in the true female experience: "it may be f**ked up, but there's not much you can do about it other than live through it."






3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page